Fairfield DUI Lawyer
Providing Aggressive Defense For DUI Charges in California
When you have been arrested for or charged with a DUI, it is critical that you contact an experienced Fairfield DUI attorney immediately for legal representation. The quicker you get started on your DUI defense, the quicker you can resolve the case, as you and your attorney can examine the readily available to build your defense.
With 24 years of experience and a passion for litigation, Attorney Tim A. Pori is equipped to handle your defense from start to finish. He has a strong reputation among the legal community, including judges and fellow lawyers. He will tell it to you straight and take on your case with honest hands that have secured many not guilty verdicts for clients before. Put a certified Criminal Law Specialist with a vast network of crime scene experts on your side.
Arrested for driving under the influence? Call (707) 289-9837 or contact our firm online to schedule a free consultation with our skilled Fairfield DUI lawyer today.
What Constitutes DUI?
In California, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of drugs or alcohol or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or more (.04% for commercial drivers), and proof of driving is required for a conviction. For underage drivers (under 21 years old), California’s zero tolerance laws make it illegal to drive even with a BAC of .01%. Note that being “under the influence” means being substantially affected by drugs, alcohol, or a combination of both. Similar laws apply for operating bikes and scooters while intoxicated.
The penalties for a DUI conviction will depend on the circumstances of the case, particularly how many prior convictions the defendant has:
- 1st offense – up to 6 months in jail; $390-$1,000 in fines; 6 months of license suspension; up to 6 months or 12 months of possible restricted license use with an interlock ignition device (IID)
- 2nd offense – 96 hours to 1 year in jail; $390-$1,000 in fines; 2 years of license suspension; 1 year of IID use
- 3rd offense – 120 days to 1 year in jail; up to $1,800 in fines; 3 years of license suspension; 2 years of IID use
Note that a DUI will count as a prior offense for 10 years.
Most standard DUI offenses are misdemeanors, though DUIs that involve the following aggravating factors can be charged as felonies:
- causing serious injuries to another person while driving under the influence;
- causing the death of another person while driving under the influence;
- having 3 or more prior DUI convictions within the past 10 years;
- having a prior felony DUI.
All drivers lawfully arrested for driving under the influence are presumed to have consented to BAC testing in California. The driver may choose to submit to either a blood or breath test. Refusal to submit to a test could result in:
- $125 fine and a period of license suspension depending on how many prior refusals they have
- 1-year suspension for a 1st refusal
- 2-year suspension for a 2nd refusal
- 3-year suspension for a 3rd refusal
DUI charges can be resolved in several ways, such as through plea bargaining. Whether you face a first-time DUI charge or have multiple offenses on your record, Attorney Tim A. Pori can defend you against your charges and champion for mitigated or reduced penalties. Let an experienced and passionate Fairfield DUI attorney fight for you in trial and negotiate strategically with the prosecution.
If you are facing charges for DUI, don't hesitate to call (707) 289-9837 or contact the Law Office of Tim A. Pori online for a free consultation today!
- A Great Trial Lawyer that Loves a Good Fight
- Well-Known & Respected by Judges & Peers
- Tim is a Certified Criminal Law Specialist by the State Bar of CA
- Over 23 Years of Legal Experience